Processing of your personal data

This website might use cookies or other personal data for the purposes of the functioning of the website. Some of these cookies are mandatory, while the other ones only help us to improve your browsing experience and get information on how the website is used.

Privacy message


10 08 2021

Today, the President of the Republic of Lithuania Gitanas Nausėda, in accordance with the Constitution, the Law on Competition and taking into account the proposal of Prime Minister Ingrida Šimonytė, signed a decree appointing Irma Urmonaitė as a member of Konkurencijos taryba. She will take up her duties from 10 September.

According to the President, I. Urmonaitė's experience abroad and in Lithuania will contribute to the activities of Konkurencijos taryba in protecting fair competition and the interests of consumers. The proficiency of the competition authority’s council members is one of the key conditions for effective competition enforcement in Lithuania and the European Union.

Since 2013 I. Urmonaitė has been working for the Competition Council in the Anti-Competitive Agreements Investigation Group, and for the last five years – has been the head of the group. In 2014 she started her training at the Court of Justice of the European Union, and from 2020 to 2021 she was appointed Assistant Director of the Cartels Division in the UK’s Competition and Markets Authority.

I. Urmonaitė graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Economics and a Master’s degree in Law from Vilnius University. She continued her studies in King’s College London, completed studies in competition law and economics in the USA and Greece.

As of 10 September Konkurencijos taryba will consist of the Chairman Šarūnas Keserauskas and four Council Members: Medeina Augustinavičienė, Karina Kučaidze, Elonas Šatas and Irma Urmonaitė. The Law on Competition stipulates that the Chairman and Council Members are appointed by the President of the Republic of Lithuania upon the proposal of the Prime Minister. The Council Members are appointed for the tenure of six years.

Last updated: 10 09 2021