Processing of your personal data

This website might use cookies or other personal data for the purposes of the functioning of the website. Some of these cookies are mandatory, while the other ones only help us to improve your browsing experience and get information on how the website is used.

Privacy message


10 09 2021

Today Irma Urmonaitė has started her six-year tenure as a Council Member in the Lithuanian competition authority. She was appointed by Gitanas Nausėda, President of the Republic of Lithuania, in line with the Constitution, the Law on Competition and upon the proposal of the Prime Minister Ingrida Šimonytė.

Quite a big part of her professional career I. Urmonaitė has spent working in the Lithuanian Konkurencijos taryba: in 2013 she joined the Anti-Competitive Agreements Investigation Group, where she was a Head of Group since 2016. In 2014 she was a trainee at the Court of Justice of the European Union, from 2020 to 2021 she was working at the UK’s competition regulator Competition and Markets Authority as an Assistant Director in the Cartels Division.

“I am glad to be able to contribute to the effective implementation of competition policy, which has become especially relevant in times of rapid technological change. A constantly changing business environment poses new challenges also for a national competition authority, but I feel certain that the team of professionals of Konkurencijos taryba is ready to face the challenges”, said I. Urmonaitė.

I. Urmonaitė graduated with a Master’s degree in Law and a Bachelor's degree in Economics from Vilnius University. She continued her postgraduate studies at King’s College London (UK) and completed study programmes in competition law and economics in the USA and Greece, she also studied at ISM University of Management and the University of Bologna (Italy).

The Law on Competition stipulates that the Chairman and Council Members are appointed by the President of the Republic of Lithuania for the tenure of six years, for not more than two consecutive terms of office. Curently Konkurencijos taryba is composed of the Chairman Šarūnas Keserauskas and four Council Members: Medeina Augustinavičienė, Karina Kučaidze, Elonas Šatas, Irma Urmonaitė.

Last updated: 10 09 2021