Processing of your personal data

This website might use cookies or other personal data for the purposes of the functioning of the website. Some of these cookies are mandatory, while the other ones only help us to improve your browsing experience and get information on how the website is used.

Privacy message


11 11 2019

Today Medeina Augustinavičienė has started her six-year tenure as a Council Member in Konkurencijos taryba. M. Augustinavičienė was appointed by Gitanas Nausėda, President of the Republic of Lithuania, upon the proposal of the Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis.

From 2015 to November 2019 M. Augustinavičienė was a Chief Adviser at the National Commission for Energy Control and Prices (currently National Energy Regulatory Council), and temporarily worked as the Head of the Heat and Water Department. In 2010–2015 she worked in the Communications Regulatory Authority as the Head of the Strategy Department.

From 1998 to 2010 M. Augustinavičienė worked as a Chief Expert of the State Aid Division and the Services Division in Konkurencijos taryba. Later on she was the Head of the Services Division and the Public Entities Supervision Division. At that time the main responsibilities of M. Augustinavičienė were related to the supervision of the Law on Competition, the activities of public entities in particular. Additionally, M. Augustinavičienė devoted quite a lot of her efforts to the analysis and evaluation of state aid projects and monopolistic services provided by public entities.

Competition law was the field that I worked in not only at the beginning of my career in the civil service, but also when serving in other sector regulatory authorities. I truly believe that my recent work experience in conducting market analysis into communications and energy sectors, as well as assessment of draft legal acts will prove very useful in my new position in Konkurencijos taryba.

Medeina Augustinavičienė, Council Member

M. Augustinavičienė graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Economics and a Master's degree in Applied Macroeconomics from Vilnius University. She speaks English, Russian, French and Italian.

The Law on Competition stipulates that the Chairman and Council Members shall be appointed by the President of the Republic of Lithuania upon the proposal of the Prime Minister. The Chairman and Council Members are appointed for the tenure of six years for not more than two consecutive terms of office.

Last updated: 26 03 2021